Winter veggies

Perhaps it’s because i’m evil, but i’ve never properly understood vegetarianism; that is to say, vegetarianism that is motivated by concern for animals. I once went vegan for a month, but that was really just to see if i could, and to expose myself to some unique fruits and vegetables

no, not like that, sicko

I guess the bottom line is, as cute as many animals are, i simply love meat – or ‘protein’, as a masterchef contestant might refer to it- too much to consider becoming a vegetarian. Someone more compassionate than myself is my friend Rayya- who loves animals so much not only does she refuse to eat them, she has, as a vet, devoted her life to helping them. While reading her awesome blog  the other day, i commented on a post she’d made about a goose, callously remarking how much i’d like to eat it- prompting her to suggest that i instead try to come up with a vegetarian dish instead. Given Rayya is one of the three or so people who actually read this blog, i thought- why not, i’ll give it a shot, and i might even learn something along the way.

I quickly decided that i wanted to make a dish that focused on winter vegetables. Unfortunately, I soon ran into a big problem- namely, that i don’t really know how to compose a vegetarian dish, and i think that’s reflected on the plate- with shit flying every which way. With a dish of meat, or seafood- it’s much easier: you make the meat the centrepiece – or ‘hero’, as a masterchef contestant might call it- and add some other ingredients to complement it. The focus of this dish, after much deliberation, was a apple and celeriac canneloni, which i made by slicing a green apple and some celeriac very finely, then cutting into this strips. I then combined it with a slightly mustardy mayonnaise and rolled some cooked pasta around it, making the canneloni.

Also on the plate is some jerusalem artichoke puree, which I love- i really do think it’s a terrific ingredient- if only it were more commonplace and wasn’t such a fiddly bastard to peel. Another component was a horseradish powder, which i thought would not only work with the other ingredients but tie in thematically with the winter vegetables- you know, insofar as it looks like snow and shit-, which was made by infusing grapeseed oil with grated horseradish, then straining and combining with tapioca maltodextrin to make a powder. I also lightly picked some sliced shallots and then battered and fried them and put them on there too.

Finally, i garnished the dish with some celery leaves, pumpkin seeds and sliced raw chestnut, to add a bit of sweetness and nuttiness. Altogether, although the dish might look like mayhem, it all pretty much works, and i’m quite proud of the result.

One thought on “Winter veggies

  1. Greggles…I am so proud of you…I can not wait to make the dish and give you my input. It sounds yummy! I often struggle to find a complete and focused veggie dish and often get bummed to have a slab of veggies put together aimlessly in a restaurant. I recently ate a beetroot tortellini stuffed with goat’s cheese; yummiest veggies meal ever. I hope to see you creating more delicious veggies dishes…mwah

Leave a comment